WAVE 91.7 FM

...everything on play

Current track



  • WAVE 91.7 FM


Written by on January 26, 2021

President MUHAMMADU BUHARI has announced the immediate resignation of the Service Chiefs, and their retirement from service.

They are Chief of Defence Staff, General ABAYOMI OLONISAKIN; Chief of Army Staff, Lieutenant General TUKUR BURATAI; Chief of Naval Staff, Vice Admiral IBOK EKWE IBAS; and Chief of Air Staff, Air Marshal SADIQUE ABUBAKAR.

In a statement by his Special Adviser on Media and Publicity, FEMI ADESINA, President BUHARI said the new Service Chiefs are Major-General LEO IRABOR and Chief of Defence Staff and Major-General I ATTAHIRU, Chief of Army Staff. Others are Rear Admiral A.Z. GAMBO, Chief of Naval Staff; and Air-Vice Marshal I.O AMAO, Chief of Air Staff.

In the meantime, the Chairman of Diobu Security Services, PRINCE AMATARI has described the resignation of the service chiefs as long overdue.

In a telephone interview, AMATARI said it was sad that President BUHARI, had to wait till the security chiefs resigned instead of booting them out of office.

The DSS Chairman also stressed that the incoming service chiefs had a lot to do to address security challenges across the country.

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *